Full Moon Night Rides

These rides are not PCC sponsored

On two evenings near every full moon, enjoy a one of two free, “pick your own speed” bike rides on lightly traveled roads. Exact times (shortly before sunset) to be announced a week or more before each ride. In case of bad weather, rides will moved up or back a day.

Rides East:

22-mile round-trip departing from Urbana’s Meadowbrook Park (Windsor Road parking lot), stop in Sidney at the Dairy Barn for ice cream and socializing before heading back on moonlit roads.

Sunday April 9

Wednesday, May 10 (special event)
FREE Event! ALL Ages! Live Music! Bicycle drawing giveaway! Kids guided bike ride!

Friday June 9
Saturday July 8
Sunday August 6
Tuesday September 5. Gather at 640pm, depart at 700pm
Wednesday, October 4. Gather at 6:10pm, depart at 6:30pm

Rides West:

24-mile round trip departing from Zahnd Park in Champaign (Staley and Windsor) to Mahomet for your choice of either ice cream treats at Dairy Queen, yogurt treats at Yoyo’s or local microbrew at JT Walkers. Then we return from Mahomet watching the full moon rising in front of us and illuminting the road. Some choose to turn off their headlights to ride with the road illuminated by the full moon.

Saturday, August 5: gather at 700pm, depart at 720pm
Wednesday September 6. Gather at 640pm, depart at 700pm
Thursday October 5. Gather at 6:10pm, depart at 6:30pm